

Community Services Region

Buena Vista * Calhoun * Carroll * Cherokee * Crawford * Ida *Sac * Woodbury

Children's Behavioral Health Advisory Committee Minutes Meeting held via Zoom June 18, 2020 10:30 am

1. Welcome and Introductions – Dawn Mentzer, Rolling Hills CEO

Dawn Mentzer, Louise Galbraith, Shannon Williams, Fitz Grant, Annie Fridh, Christina Eggink-Postma, Cindy Duhrkopf, Deb Gimer, Dennis Bush, Kevin Heineman, Julie Albright, Jessi Maxwell, Jim France, Joan Hansen, Karla Manternach, Kathy Fritz, Kim Keleher, Krista Bakke, Kristen Nehring, Lori Bush, Lisa Bringle, Leisa Mayer, Mark Monson, Melissa Drey, Nicky Eaton, Nikki Knight, Shane Walter, Theresa Jochum, Tracey Jepsen, Teresa Magnussen, Emily McNace, Kristin Nehring

2. Review Draft Rules of Procedure

Jim France worked with Dawn to create the draft Rules of Procedure which was emailed prior to the meeting. Dawn and Jim reviewed the draft document. Discussion: length of terms for persons appointed to the Governance Board: Shane Walter reported that Sioux Rivers appoints to an original term of 2 years. Ken Heineman asked about time commitments for meetings. Dawn is thinking that Advisory Committee meetings will be need to be held monthly if not bi-monthly (possibly by Zoom) for at least the first year, and Governance Board will be monthly for those appointed to serve in that capacity. Dawn suggested using the language in the 28E which specifies 2-year terms. Participation in the meeting will require an audio and video presence (for those joining remotely). AEA representatives can alternate Governance Board appointment as needed to help with their schedules - appointing a primary and alternate.

Dawn and Jim will work on the voting procedure language in the document and bring it back to the committee at the July meeting for discussion and approval.

- Appoint Children's Advisory Committee Chair/Vice Chair A motion to appoint Shannon Williams as Chair, and Deb Gimer as Vice Chair by Dennis Bush. Second by Kathy Fritz. Motion carried unanimously.
- Designate representatives to Governance Board (AEA Representative & Parent)

AEA representative (voting): A nomination to appoint Joan Hansen (Jennifer Collins as Alternate) by Jennifer Collins

Parent representative (voting) Dawn Mentzer nominated Jermaine Wamberg.

Provider (non-voting) Dawn will take a poll of providers and bring back next month.

A motion to appoint Joan Hansen (Jennifer Collins as alternate) as AEA representatives and Jermaine Wamberg as parent representative to the Governance Board by Deb Gimer. second by Kevin Heineman. Motion approved unanimously.

3. Review of HF690 & Chapter 25 Administrative Rules

Dawn gave an overview of both documents as well as core services.

4. Discussion of Core Service development for Children

Crisis Stabilization Community Based

Mobile response is in place for both adults and children (including in the schools).

• Crisis Stabilization Residential

Residential crisis services in place are both for adults only. Rosecrance/Jackson does have a unit (including sub-acute) for children, we will have to look at capacity to serve all 8 counties in the region.

Prevention Services

Must be provided at a minimum of four times per year.

Since there was a great deal of information provided and these services are relatively new concepts, it was decided that it would be best to focus on a few of the services at each meeting to break them down to provide a better understanding of each one in order to enhance the development.

5. Review Management Plan Revisions to include Children's Eligibility

Dawn reviewed the Management Plan and the changes made to add in the Children's mental health system. Discussion: None.

A motion to approve the revisions to the Management Plan by Kathy Fritz. Second by Shannon Williams. Motion carried unanimously. 6. Next Meeting: July 23, 2020 10:00 a.m. Location to be determined Minutes submitted by Louise Galbraith, Coordinator